73

If you’ve invited someone to the site, you should no longer see the username that they registered with. Similarly, users will no longer see the username of the person who gave them an invite code.

We’re very excited to announce that users can now still see their content if it was removed by moderators or admins. Moderators no longer need to send users their removed content so they can repost it in another circle. Hopefully this makes removals a little bit less frustrating.

The report form has been modified to be more accurate. It had said that reports went to admins, which has never been the case. Reports go to circle moderators. If you want to report something to the admins, you need to send a message to one (site admins are listed in the moderator list of /o/Ovarit).

If you’ve invited someone to the site, you should no longer see the username that they registered with. Similarly, users will no longer see the username of the person who gave them an invite code. We’re very excited to announce that users can now still see their content if it was removed by moderators or admins. Moderators no longer need to send users their removed content so they can repost it in another circle. Hopefully this makes removals a little bit less frustrating. The report form has been modified to be more accurate. It had said that reports went to admins, which has never been the case. Reports go to circle moderators. If you want to report something to the admins, you need to send a message to one (site admins are listed in the moderator list of /o/Ovarit).

13 comments

Fantastic, thank you - I want to invite someone from RL but can't afford to have her connect it with me here.

If you don't mind, why make the invites anonymous? I'm just curious about the reasoning.

Some people didn't want to invite anyone because it revealed their Ovarit username, connecting their username to their accounts on other platforms. Or people didn't want people IRL to know who they are on Ovarit.

I'll miss that. I was enjoying watching my group of invitees growing.

But I can understand the reasoning. It makes sense to have more anonymity rather than less.

yeah, i liked to see that too! But i'm glad for the anonymity

If you think about it, it makes doxxing easier. Doxxing someone is easier the more accounts you can connect. If someone gives out codes on Reddit and accidentally gives one to a TRA, then bam, that TRA can gather info from 2 accounts now instead of 1. And sine there are TRA lists of people who are anti trans.... I think you can see why having a person know who referred them can be dangerous.

I can now see comments that I've deleted with no option to further delete them. Does this mean that Ovarit keeps a copy of comments indefinitely and will there be an option to fully delete?

Since trolls would stir up shit then delete the evidence and force us to act on hearsay, we decided to make it so they couldn't do that here. Only mods of the circle and site admins can see the deleted content.

I'm really upset that this is retroactive. I posted something once that I deleted immediately because I felt it was too personal, and now it's somewhere in my history? Anyone who is logged in would be able to find it in that case.

Please reconsider this feature. I'm disappointed that deletions are stored on the site software. I figured deleted meant deleted forever.

No, anyone who is logged in cannot see deleted content. Just the people who have to be responsible for it (admins and circle mods) and the person who posted it.

You shouldn't assume deletion means literal deletion on any website. In general that isn't the case on websites. Once you hit submit, you make it our responsibility. If someone puts something illegal on this website, that's my problem, and I have to deal with it and them. Deleting it after posting doesn't make it not my problem anymore. It's similar with rule breaking content. If someone is harassing someone on the site and deletes it before mods see it, that puts us in a situation I'm not okay with.

Additionally, general rules of the internet apply. You should assume that your posts on the public internet are being saved by third parties. Entire websites exist to log content on other websites, and I wouldn't be surprised if someone runs a script to log what is posted on this site. And that's besides search engine caching and the like.