User blocking feature
Previously the "block" functionality only prevented users from sending you private messages. Users expected the "block" function to block a user's posts and comments but they did not. Now users can block other users on the site, to block their posts and comments from view.
There are two ways to block user posts and comments, as well as a separate control to block messages from users.
To block a user, go to their user profile. In the sidebar (found in the "hamburger menu" on mobile) click the "Block" button. A modal will show you two different sets of options.
Private message options:
- Show messages: allows a user to send you private messages (default)
- Hide messages: stops a user from sending you private messages
Post and comments options:
- Hide posts and comments: You will not see the user's posts and comments. Their posts will not show up in the lists of posts, and their comments on posts will be collapsed and their username will be replaced with [Blocked]. If you expand the comment you will see the username of the poster but not the comment
- Blur posts and collapse comments: You will have to click to view the user's posts and comments. Their posts will show up blurred like NSFW posts do, and it will say [blocked] after their username under their post. You can click on the post to reveal it. The blocked user's comments will be collapsed, and it will say [blocked] after their username. If you click to expand the comment it will show the comment.
- Show posts and comments: You will see the user's posts and comments normally (default)
To manage your block list, go to your settings page. In the sidebar, click the "Blocked users" button. This will take you to the list of users you have blocked.
Exceptions to user blocking:
- If you block someone who is a moderator you will still see their posts and comments in the circles where they moderate.
- If you are a moderator and you block someone you will still see their posts and comments in the circles where you moderate.
- No one can block site admins.
- Site admins cannot block anyone.
Many improvements to mobile layouts for moderators
If you're a moderator using a mobile device, many more of the moderation pages will now fit on your screen. Thank you for tolerating some very difficult pages for so long. If you find any more pages that don't fit or are hard to use let us know please.
Users are now told their bans are temporary when they are temporary
Previously when users were banned temporarily they got the same message as people who were permanently banned. This was pretty bad and led to a lot of anger and confusion. It took a long time to find out this was happening. Sorry everyone!
Odds and Ends:
- Clicking anywhere on a modmail message will open the whole conversation, and other modmail UI tweeks
- Mods can see the posts that mods and admins have removed in the post comments view again (the ability to reapprove them is still in development)
- Other fixes